Public participation in the Presidential Education Reforms Taskforce to start on Tuesday.

On November 1, forums for public input will be held by the 42-member task team that President William Ruto commissioned to assess the nation’s educational system and make recommendations.

Prof. Raphael Munavu, the chair of the Presidential Working Party on Education Reforms, stated that the engagement forum would begin on November 1 and run from 8 to 10 am in each of the 47 counties before coming to an end on November 11.

The committee will carry out the exercise on November 1 in the counties of Kwale, Taita Taveta, Marsabit, Nyandarua, Turkana, Kericho, Busia, Migori, Mandera, and Samburu.

The committee will tour many secondary schools in the counties of Mombasa, Makueni, Nyeri, Elgeyo Marakwet, Bungoma, Nyamira, and Homa Bay on Thursday, November 3.

On November 4, the public participation forum activity will resume in the counties of Isiolo, Wajir, and Laikipia.

In a notice published on Friday, Munavu requested that members of the public “offer their thoughts to the Presidential Working Party on Education Reforms based on the Terms of Reference as per the Kenya Gazette Notice No.11920,” either in writing or orally.

The exercise will continue on November 7 in the counties of Kilifi, Kitui, Kirinyaga, Bomet, Trans Nzoia, Kakamega, and Kisii before the committee interacts with citizens of Meru, Garissa, and Baringo on November 8.

The committee will similarly consult with interested parties in the fields of education in the counties of Lamu, Embu, Muranga, West Pokot, Narok, Nandi, and Siaya.

On November 11, the activity will be finished in the counties of Tana River, Machakos, Tharaka Nithi, Kiambu, Uasin Gishu, Kajiado, Vihiga, Kisumu, Nairobi, and Nakuru.

On September 30, 2022, President William Ruto commissioned the 42-member taskforce to assess the nation’s educational system and make recommendations, chief among them a suitable framework for implementing the competency-based curriculum (CBC).

The Working Party on Education Reform, according to President Ruto, will function for a period of six months and be obligated to submit to him a progress report every two months from the date of their appointment.

The team includes, among others, Prof. Collins Odete, Mutheu Kasanga, a former member of the CBC task force, and internationally renowned Kenyan educator Peter Tabichi.

The task force, which has also been given seven secretaries, will examine the laws affecting the basic education subsector and offer suggestions for revisions to the laws in order to address “duplication, ambiguity, efficiency, restrictions, and improving links.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.