Kandara, Garissa Township, and Elgeyo Marakwet by-election dates announced by the IEBC.


The official dates of the by-elections to replace parliamentary seats in the Kandara and Garissa Township constituencies and a senatorial position in Elgeyo Marakwet county have been announced by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

This comes after lawmakers who held the aforementioned positions and were nominated to President William Ruto’s cabinet resigned.

Alice Wahome, who is currently the Cabinet Secretary for Water and Sanitation, previously served as Kandara’s MP. Aden Duale, a Garissa Township MP, was appointed to the position of CS Defense, and Kipchumba Murkomen, an Elgeyo Marakwet senator, was transferred to the Ministry of Transportation and Public Works.

The by-elections for the areas, including the MCA seat for Shella Ward, Lamu County, will now take place on January 5, 2023, according to the IEBC.

Political parties that plan to run candidates in the by-elections are urged to submit the names of those candidates by November 14, 2022.

Two well-known candidates in Elgeyo Marakwet, activist Jerotich Seii and real estate developer Tim Kipchumba, have already declared their intentions to run against Murkomen.

Jerotich Seii is a vocal advocate for human rights and was a part of the Linda Katiba movement, which played a significant role in the contentious BBI process that the court decided to throw out.

Kipchumba is a solar and real estate developer who has previously been recognized as one of the Top 40 Under 40 most influential and forward-thinking individuals by Business Daily.

Murkomen, for his part, has committed to help and collaborate with whoever succeeds him.

“Whoever is running should just ask for my vote so I can check them out, but ultimately the voters will decide who becomes your next senator. And I pledge my full support to any senator who is elected “Murkomen declared at a previous occasion.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.