Juliana Cherera: These 27 Constituencies Presidential Results Were Not Counted

Juliana Cherera, vice chair of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), provided information that refutes the accusations she made against Wafula Chebukati, her supervisor.

She went on to say that the list of the 27 constituencies whose results had not been made public prior to the announcement of the final presidential results was the reason why she and the other four IEBC commissioners had disagreed with Chebukati’s designation of William Ruto as the winner.

Cherera added that Chebukati asked the Commissioners to join him in the boardroom and then gave them a document containing what he called a summary of the presidential election results in her response to the Supreme Court petition brought by Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Coalition Party presidential flagbearer Hon. Raila Odinga.

The IEBC vice-chairperson named the 27 constituencies whose results, according to her, had not been made public until the president-elect was declared in his affidavit to the supreme court. Constituencies include,

  • Bomachoge Constituency
  • Borabu Constituency
  • Bura Constituency
  • Eldas Constituency
  • Fafi Constituency
  • Kacheliba Constitency
  • Kajiado East Constituency
  • Kanduyi Constituency
  • Kapenguria Constituency
  • Kilifi North Constituency

  • Kitutu Chache North Constituency
  • Kuria East Constituency
  • Mandera West Constituency
  • Matuga Constituency
  • Mbeere North Constituency
  • Mvita Constituency
  • Narok South Constituency
  • Narok North Constituency
  • Narok West Constituency
  • Ndaragwa Constituency

  • Ndhiwa Constituency
  • Nyakach Constituency
  • Rangwe Constituency
  • Suba North Constituency
  • Tigania East Constituency
  • Wajir North Constituency
  • West Mugirango Constituency

On August 15, the IEBC announced that William Ruto of UDA had won the presidential election with 7.18 million votes (50.49%) to Odinga’s 6.94 million (48.85%).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply