Hassan Omar, David Sankok, Kennedy Musyoka, and Winnie Odinga elected to the EALA

Winnie Odinga, Kennedy Musyoka, David Sankok And Hassan Omar

Nine representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) for a five-year term have been elected by members of the National Assembly and Senate through a vote.

The two chambers’ votes were split most evenly between Hassan Omar Kwanza, a former senator from Mombasa, Kenya, and Kennedy Kalonzo, the son of Wiper leader Kalonzo Musyoka.

With 253 votes, Omar received the most in the Kenya Kwanza coalition, followed by Zipporah Kering with 223 votes.

David Ole Sankok, a former Nominated MP, received 223 votes, placing him in the top five in Kenya Kwanza, whereas Godfrey Mwangi received 213 votes from both Houses.

Falhada Dekow almost avoided defeat because Fred Muteti, who finished fifth with 189 votes, was edged out on a gender-related technicality, allowing Falhada to advance to sixth place with 174 votes.

zio la Umoja One Kenya, which submitted 12 nominees for the ballot, received four places as well.

With 262 votes obtained from both chambers, Kennedy Musyoka of the Wiper party took the lead.

Winnie Odinga, the daughter of ODM party leader Raila Odinga, won the support of 247 MPs from both coalitions, while Kanini Kega of the Jubilee Party received 197 votes, placing her in the top three.

Suleiman Shahbal of the ODM party, a businessman from Mombasa, received 181 votes to end the list of four Azimio MPs.

The nine will now travel to Arusha, Tanzania, to take their oaths of office alongside their colleagues.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply