Governor Sakaja Establishes Committee to Examine and Check the Pending Bills in Nairobi County

Countless billions of shillings in unpaid bills owing by the county government in Nairobi have been reviewed and verified by a 12-member committee that Governor Johnson Sakaja has appointed.

As chair and vice-chair, respectively, of the Committee on the Review, Scrutiny, and Verification of Pending Legal Bills, will be Advocate Kamotho Waiganjo.

In a gazette notice published on January 16, 2022, Governor Sakaja requested that a report with suggestions for resolving the legal pending bills in the County Government’s stock be sent to him within months.

The committee’s duties include carrying out or causing to be carried out any studies or research that may inform its work. It also includes submitting monthly progress reports, a final report to the Governor, and reports from any prior investigations pertinent to its mission.

The Gazette notice states that “within four months, the committee will submit to the Governor a final report detailing recommendations towards the streamlining of the procurement of legal services within the County Government and ensuring that future escalation of outstanding legal bills is avoided.”

The committee will have the authority to co-opt any individual or to name subcommittees as it sees fit, but only for specific areas of its terms of reference.

The Secretariat of the Committee, which will be housed at City Hall, has been tasked with distributing any information deemed pertinent to the Committee, creating reports for the Committee, and providing necessary background information.

In order to compile the essential data for the Committee, it will also conduct research and communicate with the pertinent departments of the national and county governments of Nairobi.

Eric Theuri, Aldrin Ojiambo, Dulma Farah Mohamed, David Kabeberi, Dickson Mutuku Mwenze, Elias Mutuma, Emily Chelule, Victor Swanya, and Wangechi Wahome Ng’ayu are additional committee members.

Beatrice Auma Otieno and Francis Njoroge will serve as the committee’s joint secretaries.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply