Bungoma by-election: Wafula Wakoli of Ford Kenya wins the Senate seat.

The Bungoma Senatorial By-Election was won by Ford Kenya’s Wafula Wakoli.

Wakoli received 66,023 votes to win the seat, while Mwambu Mabonga of the UDA received only 45,907 votes.

Wafula Wamunyinyi of Azimio la Umoja finished third with 20,519 votes.

Senator Moses Wetangula resigned in September 2022 to run for the office of National Assembly Speaker, which he ultimately won. As a result, the Bungoma Senate seat remained empty.

The three previously stated applicants were among a total of 11 that entered the competition.

Others were Robert Sifuna, Fredrick Busolo, Elias Barasa of the People’s Empowerment Party, Aaron Wafula of the Republican Liberty Party, and Geoffrey Barasa of the National Ordinary People Empowerment Union (Roots Party of Kenya).

As independent candidates, Enock Opara, Julius Masinde, and Radon Munoko all competed for the job.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply