All Governors Elect To Be Sworn In On Thursday

Newly elected governors will be sworn in on Thursday, August 25, in accordance with the law, which requires the oath or affirmation to take place no earlier than 10 a.m. and no later than 2 p.m., 10 days after the candidates are declared winners by the IEBC.

The Council of Governors (COG) will include 30 new members who will be taking up the mantle for the first time, as well as six inaugural governors who will be retaking the seats they lost in 2017.

Four others have retained their seats and will be serving for the second and final term. 

They include Governor Anyang Nyong’o of Kisumu, Governors Wilber Ottichilo of Vihiga, Joseph Ole Lenku of Kajiado, and Stephen Sang of Nandi.

The newly elected governors of Nairobi and Busia, Johnson Sakaja and Paul Otuoma, are also scheduled to take the oath of office.

Additionally scheduled for swearing-in is Andrew Mwadime, the newly elected governor of Taita Taveta who ran as an independent.

In addition to Wisley Rotich and Benjamin Cheboi, other governors taking office on Thursday include Jonathan Bii (Uasin Gishu), Simon Kachapin (West Pokot), Joshua Irungu (Laikipia), Jonathan Lati Leleliit (Samburu), and Moses Badilisha Kiarie (Nyandarua).

The list also includes Jeremiah Lomorukai (Turkana), Simba Arati (Kisii), Wilber Ottichilo (Vihiga), Joseph Ole Lenku (Kajiado), Mohamud Ali (Marsabit), Mutula Kilonzo Junior (Makueni), Mohamed Adan Khalif (Mandera), Mohamud Ali (Isiolo), Kimani Wamatangi (Kiambu), Ahmed Abdullah

The law mandates that the outgoing governor present the new governor with the county flag, coat of arms, constitution, and public seal. After receiving the tools of power, the newly elected governor will take over.

Following the oath of office, the Council of Governors will organize a thorough induction for the county leadership to inform them of their responsibilities and explain government rules and regulations.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply