Four IEBC Commissioners Disowns Presidential Results

Four Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commissioners (IEBC) led by Vice Chairperson Juliana Cherera, have rejected the outcome of the August 9 presidential election.

Cherera stated that together with her other collegeaus including Francis Wanderi, Justus Nyangaya, and Irene Masit, stated that they could not take ownership of the election results owing to the opaque nature of the final process of verification of the resulst.

Cherera stated that the IEBC conducted an election that was free, fair and verifiable. However, she argued that the final verification was shrouded in mystery.”We are not at the Bomas of Kenya because we cannot take ownership of the results that are going to be announced because of the opaque nature which these results have been handled,” Cherera stated.

The IEBC Vice chairperson added that the aggrieved parties with the process are free to seek legal redress.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply