Veteran Mt Kenya Azimio MP Concedes Defeat

Outgoing National Assembly Majority leader Amos Kimunya has lost bid to defend his parliamentary seat.

The MP was seeking a fourth term in office after having served the constituency for 15 years.

In his statement on the elections. Kimunya said the voters had chosen his opponent for the seat adding that he respects their decision.

“Yesterday’s election was historic for Mt Kenya Region, including Kipipiri, and will hopefully offer a moment of reflection. The people made their decision, which was different from our expectations. In a democracy, the will of the people prevails, and therefore I and #TeamKimunya, will respect their choices. We extend our congratulations to the winners,” he wrote on Facebook.

Kimunya said he did his best in the campaigns adding that he is grateful for the 15 years of service the people of the region accorded him.

“We wish to thank the people of Kipipiri for the opportunity of serving them for 15 years. It was a responsibility that my family, team and I carried out with honour and dedication, and through which we all learnt a lot, touched many lives, and made our humble contribution to making the world a better place. We thank all who supported us in this journey,” he added.

He further said:

“We appreciate that life is dynamic, shaped by constantly emerging and often surprising circumstances. We did our best for Kipipiri, we are proud of our achievements, and that history will never be erased. The people have however made their choice, and we respect it. We wish them well.”

Other leaders who have conceded defeat include outgoing Taveta legislator Naomi Shaban, Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria who was eyeing Kiambu governor seat, Lawyer Cliff Ombeta who was vying in Bonchari among others.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply