WhatsApp Rolls Out New Feature That Will Allow You to Delete Wrong Message 2 Days Later

A 3D printed whatsapp logo and keyboard buttons placed on a computer motherboard [PHOTO | COURTESY]

WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature that will enable its users to delete wrong messages two days after being sent.

In a statement dated Monday, August 8, the new feature allows everyone to delete specific messages sent to individuals or groups within 48 hours.

Through the new feature, the Meta-owned instant messaging application extended the time limit from 68 minutes to 2 days.

With the introduction of the new feature, users can delete messages just for themselves or for everyone within two days of sending.

Delete for everyone option allows them to get rid of wrong or mistaken messages to an individual or group chat easily.

“Rethinking your message? Now you’ll have a little over 2 days to delete your messages from your chats after you hit send,” the WhatsApp statement read in part.

However, when a user picks the delete ‘for yourself’ option, the message is only removed from the user’s device. The recipients will still see the messages on their chat screen.

How to Delete Messages on WhatsApp

To delete, one must open WhatsApp and then go to the chat containing the message you intend to delete.

Tap and hold the message. For multiple messages, one can select more than one.

Then tap on the delete button, which will bring two options Delete for me or Delete for everyone.

The user can then determine between the two before clicking delete.

However, recipients using WhatsApp for iOS may still have media sent saved to their Photos even after the message is deleted from the WhatsApp chat.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply