All 24 Cabinet nominees approved by Parliament.

Parliamentary session. [Photo | Courtesy]

All 24 cabinet nominees announced by President William Ruto on September 27, 2022, have received approval from the National Assembly.
Peninah Malonza’s nomination to the Ministry of Tourism has been in limbo after the house committee rejected her in a report on Tuesday.

On Tuesday, there was disagreement within the House Committee on Appointments over the nominations of two further individuals, Aisha Jumwa (Public Service), and Mithika Linturi (Agriculture).

Malonza’s nomination for Tourism CS was unanimously rejected by the committee because they felt she lacked the necessary skills and expertise to carry out her duties, but Linturi’s nomination ran into trouble because he had not submitted his academic credentials and had open legal matters.

Jumwa, on the other hand, was not nominated because of a legal dispute in which she is charged with murdering a man in 2019 during the Ganda Ward by-election.

The Committee concluded that Jumwa’s statements that she does not possess a firearm or a firearm license were insufficient to establish her innocence and justify the imposition of a ministerial docket.

The most recent events now make it possible for the Cabinet Members to take their oaths of office in accordance with the constitution.

Before the President, the nominees will take oaths of office or confirm their loyalty to the Kenyan people and the Republic.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.